HARTFORD – Six Connecticut residents have been honored by the Connecticut Convention & Sports Bureau (CTCSB) with “Bring It Home Awards”. The “Bring It Home Awards” honor state residents for their contributions to making the state a successful convention and major sporting events venue. The honorees belong to or work with professional or social associations and have greatly helped the Connecticut Convention & Sports Bureau and local hotels and meeting venues book many national and regional conventions.

This is the first time that the Connecticut Convention & Sports Bureau presented these awards. In June 2012, the former Greater Hartford Convention & Visitors Bureau (GHCVB), creator of the awards, expanded to become the CTCSB and serve the entire state. Many GHCVB staffers now are now part of the new CTCSB and have continued the tradition.

The awards ceremony was held at the Inn at Middletown in Middletown, Conn. and was attended by convention and hospitality leaders from across the state.

The Connecticut Convention & Sports Bureau’s “Bring It Home Awards” were presented to:

Rosalind Coltherst-Smallhorne of East Hartford, for bringing the Southern New England Church of God’s “Annual Women’s Conference” to the Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa since 2009;

Kenneth Edwards, Jr. of New London, for bringing the upcoming 8th annual Crisis Intervention Teams (CIT) International Conference to the Connecticut Convention Center in October 2013;

David Kelly of Shelton, for bringing Spectrum Plastics Group’s National Sales Meetings and Leadership Meetings to the Holiday Inn Bridgeport since 2011;

Harold Kramer of Cheshire, for bringing the upcoming American Radio Relay League’s Centennial Convention to the Connecticut Convention Center in July 2014;

Gladys Rivera of East Hartford, for bringing the 2012 the Fuel Cell Seminar & Energy Exposition to Mohegan Sun in November 2012; and

John Shemo of South Windsor, for bringing the Northeastern Economic Developers Association’s 56th Annual Conference to the Marriott Hartford Downtown in October 2012.

Bring It Home Awards Feb 2013

PICTURED (left to right):
Standing: Rosalind Coltherst-Smallhorne (East Hartford), Kenneth Edwards, Jr. (New London), David Kelly (Shelton), Michael Van Parys, President of the Connecticut Convention & Sports Bureau (CTCSB). Seated: Harold Kramer (Cheshire), Gladys Rivera (East Hartford), John Shemo (South Windsor), Photographer credit: Photo Images Co.